The Stars release another album

The North

September 2012

‘The North’ will be released on September 4th, 2012 on Soft Revolution Records / ATO. 

This will be the band’s sixth full length record. It was produced by Stars, Graham Lessard and Marcus Paquin and mixed by Tony Hoffer.

  • #Track nameTime
     
  • 1.The Theory of Relativity4:15
     
  • 2.Backlines2:11
     
  • 3.The North4:52
     
  • 4.Hold On When You Get Love And Let Go When You Give It4:39
     
  • 5.Through The Mines4:11
     
  • 6.Do You Want To Die Together?3:09
     
  • 7.Lights Changing Colour3:07
     
  • 8.The Loose Ends Will Make Knots2:32
     
  • 9.A Song Is A Weapon3:05
     
  • 10.Progress3:50
     
  • 11.The 4003:27
     
  • 12.Walls4:17

This was really my first indie album ever, and I struggled with it. But two of my favorite people, Moo and Maggie, were into it, so I played it on repeat until I understood it. And that’s when I realized that with enough effort, you can force your mind to enjoy just about anything. Its how I started to enjoy listening to the Guggenheim Grotto.

Of course, this raises the question: If you don’t actually enjoy listening to it, then why force yourself to?

So there are two answers to that….

1.) To emulate and copy the people I want to be like

2.) To expand my personal tastes.

And they’re both true. When I was in the King and I when I was a kid, there was a song about whistling. Its a fairly forgettable song, except for the theoretical implications. If I can convince myself that I’m not afraid, I will eventually no longer be afraid. If I emulate the people I admire, eventually I will pick up their attributes. The hope is that when I reach that point, I’ll have become a creator and an inspiration to other people. It’s a cycle, you know? 

Leave a Reply

